Whitehead Named To Julius Erving Award Watch List

Story Links SPRINGFIELD, Massachusetts — The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame has announced Duke freshman Dariq Whitehead as one of 20 players on the waiting list for the 2023 Julius Erving Small Forward of the Year Award.

A native of Newark, NJ, Whitehead averaged 16.5 points, 5.0 rebounds, 3.5 assists and 1.5 steals per game during his senior season at Montverde Academy. He was rated the #2 overall player in the ESPN 100 rankings for the class of 2022 and was named the Naismith High School Player of 2022, Florida Gatorade Player of 2022, and Sports Illustrated All-American Player of the Year of 2022. the year. Whitehead won four GEICO Nationals titles in Montverde, was named MVP at the McDonald’s All-American Game and led Team USA by 17 points in a win at the Nike Hoop Summit.

Whitehead aims to become the second Blue Devil in as many years to win the Julius Erving Small Forward of the Year award after Wendell Moore Jr. received the award last season.

Named after Class of 1993 Hall of Famer and 16-year-old professional basketball player Julius Erving, the annual honor in its ninth year recognizes the best small strikers in Division I men’s college basketball. A national committee of top college basketball personnel established the waiting list of 20 candidates.

College basketball enthusiasts are encouraged to participate in Fan Voting presented by Dell Technologies in each of the three rounds. At the end of January, the 20-player waiting list for the 2023 Julius Erving Award will be reduced to 10 and to just five at the end of February. In March, the five finalists will be presented to Erving and the Hall of Fame selection committee, where a winner will be chosen. The winner of the Julius Erving Award 2023 will be awarded on a date to be determined, along with the other four members of the Men’s Starting Five.

For more information about the Julius Erving Award 2023 and the latest updates, log on to www.hoophallawards.com and follow @hoophall and #WestAward on Twitter and Instagram. The kick-off of Five Fan Voting, presented by Dell Technologies, will go live on Friday, October 28.

2023 Julius Erving Award Candidates Brandon Miller – Alabama Pelle Larsson – Arizona Jordan Walsh – Arkansas Baylor Scheierman – CreightonDariq Whitehead – Duke Matthew Cleveland – Florida State Julian Strawther – Gonzaga Jalen Wilson – Kansas Chris Livingston – Kentucky Jamison Battle – Minnesota Leaky Black – North Carolina Caleb McConnell – Rutgers Harrison Ingram – Stanford Josiah Jordan-James – Tennessee Timmy Allen – Texas Kevin Obanor – Texas Tech Jaime Jaquez Jr. – UCLA Cam Whitmore – Villanova Tyler Wahl – Wisconsin Colby Jones – Xavier

To keep up to date with Blue Devils men’s basketball, follow the team on Twitter, Instagram and Facebook by searching for “DukeMBB”.

#Good week

Leave a Comment