Two Longhorns ready for induction into the Texas Sports Hall of Fame

WACO, Texas – Two Texas Exes have been set for induction into the Texas Sports Hall of Fame, it was announced Wednesday. Carlette Guidry-Falkquay (athletics) and Priest Holmes (football) will be inducted into the Hall of Fame as part of the Class of 2023. The pair are part of a group of eight members who will be honored on April 15 at the BASE at Extraco Event Center in Waco, Texas.

Guidry-Falkquay was a 23-time All-American who competed for the Longhorns from 1987-1991 and remains one of the most dominant sprinters in NCAA history. Her 12 total NCAA titles, including relay events, are the most of any women in NCAA Division I history. Her seven individual sprint titles are more than any other male or female combined during the indoor and outdoor season. In addition to her sprint titles, Guidry-Falkquay won the NCAA Indoor long jump title in her first season. In her senior year, she earned the Honda Award as the National Track and Field Athlete of the Year, received the Babe Zaharias Award as the nation’s best female athlete, and was named the SWC Female Athlete of the Year in the 1980s. The Houston native is also a two-time Olympic gold medalist in the 4×100 relay events in 1992 and 1996. Guidry-Falkquay’s 100m outdoor record was recently beaten by current standout sprinter Julien Alfred en route to winning the NCAA Outdoor title of 2022. The Texas Relays also honor the Texas Ex, as it named the 4×100 relay in her honor in 2015. Guidry-Falkquay was also one of 30 track and field legends named to the inaugural USTFCCCA Collegiate Hall of Fame class this past outdoor season.

A San Antonio native, Holmes was a four-year running back letterman, finishing his UT career in 25th place on the all-school rush list. He was selected as team captain after rushing three touchdowns and 120 yards in a memorable surprise win over No. 3 and two-time defending Nebraska National Champion in the first-ever Big 12 Championship in 1996. Holmes missed the 1995 season with a knee injury after finishing the game. 1994 season by earning Sun Bowl MVP honors. He rushed for 161 yards and four touchdowns in a win over North Carolina in that game. After his time on Forty Acres, Holmes signed with the Baltimore Ravens as a free agent in 1997 and went on to be a three-time Pro Bowl back-to-back with the Kansas City Chiefs. Despite injuries, Holmes went on to become one of the most prolific individual offensive performers in Chiefs history. In 11 NFL seasons, Holmes rushed for 8,172 yards and 72 TDs, finishing his career with 10 different Kansas City career records and eight single-season marks. He won Super Bowl XXXV with the Ravens and was a first-team All-Pro roster three times from 2001-03 when he joined the Chiefs. Holmes was inducted into the Texas High School Football Hall of Fame in 2006 and was a Texas Athletics Hall of Honor inductee in 2007.

The 2023 class also includes former Houston Oilers two-time All-Pro linebacker Robert Brazile, former Houston Astros two-time All-Star outfielder José Cruz, Baylor National Basketball Championship coach Scott Drew, former Palastine High School standout running back and 2012 NFL MVP Adrian Peterson, three-time diver on the U.S. Olympic team and Cynthia Potter, a Houston native, and former Texas Southern University defensive lineman and Pro Football Hall of Famer Michael Strahan.

Leave a Comment