Son of West Indies legend earns first test call for Australian series

The West Indies have appointed a 15-man squad for the upcoming test tour of Australia in November and December.

Kraigg Brathwaite will continue to captain the West Indies in a format in which they have excelled in recent times.

And there will be a new face on the plane to Australia, with Tagenarine Chanderpaul, son of the great Shivnarine Chanderpaul, handing his first call-up to the squad.

The 26-year-old southpaw is a useful lead-off hitter, averaging 34.21 in his first-class career so far. And chief selector Desmond Haynes has explained why the decision was made to recall the Guyana herd now.

“We have one newcomer to the team in Tagenarine Chanderpaul,” said Haynes.

“He equipped himself very well in the four-day matches of the West Indies Championship and also did very well at the top of the rankings this summer against Bangladesh A in Saint Lucia. He has what it takes to do well at the highest level.”

Chanderpaul’s roster comes after the end of John Campbell’s spell at the top of the order for the West Indies.

In the opener’s 20-match Test career, he averaged just 26.11, but a four-year suspension for anti-doping violations earlier this month left a gap at the top of the West Indian batting formation, which Chanderpaul has filled.

Other notable names that have made the cut include Roston Chase and Shamarh Brooks, with the pair returning to the test rig.

“Roston Chase has returned to the squad as an all-rounder and we believe his experience and skills will be useful, and Shamarh Brooks has also returned to bolster the middle class,” said Haynes.

🗣 Main voter The most honor. dr. Desmond Haynes said:

“We have a core group of players who have been part of the Test squad and have performed well. We’ve played two series this year against England and Bangladesh 🇧🇩– and won both.”

— Windies Cricket (@windiescricket) October 29, 2022

The West Indies kick off their visit to Australia with a warm-up match in Canberra against a combined XI from Capital Territory and New South Wales.

And the tourists will also play a pink ball warm-up match, also in Canberra, against a Prime Minister’s XI. The two-test series will begin on November 30, with the last scheduled match day on December 12.

Kraigg Brathwaite (Captain), Jermaine Blackwood (Vice Captain), Nkrumah Bonner, Shamarh Brooks, Tagenarine Chanderpaul, Roston Chase, Joshua Da Silva, Jason Holder, Alzarri Joseph, Kyle Mayers, Anderson Phillip, Raymon Reifer, Kemar Roach, Jayden Seales , Devon Thomas

November 17-19: v ACT/NSW XI at Philip Oval, Canberra

November 23-26: against Prime Minister’s XI in Manuka Oval, Canberra (day/night)

November 30 to December 4: 1st Test at Perth Stadium, Perth

December 8-12: 2nd Test at Adelaide Oval, Adelaide (Day/Night)

Leave a Comment