National Stadium in Karachi to be renamed National Bank Cricket Arena

The National Stadium in Karachi has been renamed the National Bank Cricket Arena after the PCB signed a five-year naming agreement with the National Bank of Pakistan (NBP), a government-owned commercial bank. The stadium has had a 99-year lease from the federal government since 1980 and is the largest stadium in the country with a capacity of 32,000 seats.

This is the first stadium naming agreement in Pakistan.

“We are delighted to be working with the Pakistan Cricket Board,” said Rehmat Ali Hasnie, president and CEO of NBP, in a statement. “The National Stadium, Karachi, is one of the most iconic cricket venues in the world and has hosted some of the legends of all eras since Test cricket was first played there.

“We are honored to partner with such an incredible cricket venue, our aim over the next five years would be to help the PCB further improve the venue while contributing to grassroots Pakistani cricket across the country. “

The NBP has been involved in Pakistan’s domestic cricket since the establishment of the departmental teams in 1970. The organizations were asked to provide employment opportunities for players, enabling them to have full-time employment, and the NBP was one of the few to offer players contracts from its inception until 2019, when its domestic structure was revamped, making it a six-provincial became an association matter.

The NBP won five Quaid-e-Azam Trophy titles and seven Patron’s Trophy titles during their 48-year run. It also has a premier ground – the NBP Sports Complex – in Karachi, which has hosted competitive cricket since 1998.

The PCB has not revealed the exact value of the deal; the board had previously reported that it had taken over the services of YouGov to estimate the brand value of the country’s stadiums. The PCB said that in addition to the naming rights agreement, both sides will also collaborate and collaborate on sponsorship initiatives to promote and develop grassroots cricket across the country.

Under the agreement, the NBP is allowed to use the naming of the venue and the signage outside the playing field.

Apart from Karachi Stadium, which was assigned to the PCB by the then President General Muhammad Zia-ul-Haq in 1980, cricket stadiums in Pakistan are owned by the respective city governments. Gaddafi Stadium, Rawalpindi Stadium, Multan Stadium and Bugti Stadium – all PCB-regulated locations – have short-term leases, which are renewed from time to time by the respective governments.

Leave a Comment