Mumbai Ranji Trophy team announced, Ajinkya Rahane to lead

The Mumbai Cricket Association senior selection committee on Sunday announced the players who will be part of the Ranji Trophy squad. The team will be captained by Ajinkya Rahane and will include stars like Prithvi Shaw, Yashasvi Jaiswal and Sarfaraz Khan.

Placed in the Elite B Group, Mumbai will begin their Ranji campaign against Andhra Pradesh on BKC on December 13. Last year, Mumbai reached the final of the tournament before being defeated by Madhya Pradesh.

Last month, Mumbai got their hands on the Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 Trophy, the elusive silverware missing from their bulging cabinet, beating Himachal Pradesh by three wickets in the top-flight battle.

Mumbai bowlers were right on the money as spinner Tanush Kotain (3/15) and medium pacer Mohit Avasthi (3/21) shared six wickets between them to limit Himachal Pradesh to 143 for eight. In chasing down the humble target, Mumbai had its share of hiccups before Sarfaraz Khan again showed what he is capable of with a timely unbeaten 36-run cameo from 31 balls to help his side cross the line with three balls to spare.

Rahane, who was banned from the New Zealand and Bangladesh tour, will try to prove his point as he tries to make his way back into the international squad. “If he wants to get back in the team, he will have to score more points… he knows that. He is in constant contact with the selection committee. The middle order is so full that even Hanuma Vihari has found a place in the selection,” former chairman of the selection committee, Chetan Sharma, had said.

This year’s Ranji Trophy season starts on December 13 and runs until February 20.

Mumbai Squad: Ajinkya Rahane (C), Prithvi Shaw, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Sarfaraz Khan, Suved Parkar, Prasad Pawar, Shams Mulani, Tanush Kotian, Hardik Tamore (wk), Siddharth Raut, Royston Dias, Tushar Deshpande, Mohit Awasthi, Shashank Attarde, Armaan Jaffer, Musheer Khan, Suryansh Shedge

Leave a Comment