“Bowlers should be…”: Australia Great’s massive statement on India-Pakistan Dead-Ball debate

Former Australia captain Greg Chappell has called for cricket laws to be overhauled and says if the ball hits the bat and hits the stumps during a free hit it should be pronounced dead to credit the bowlers as play is already in the game. advantage is reversed. of batters. An over-the-waist no-ball and three byes to the ensuing free hit in the final over had helped India secure a memorable win against Pakistan in the ongoing T20 World Cup last week.

However, there has been much debate as to why the batted free ball was not immediately called dead after it hit the stumps.

Former cricketers have objected that a batter thrown from a free hit would result in a dead ball preventing further scoring of the same pitch.

“I would revise that rule to give credit to the bowler for the dead ball if he is good enough to hit the bat and hit the stumps,” Chappell wrote in his column for ‘The Sydney Morning Herald’.

With India needing 13 from three balls, Virat Kohli hit a six from a waist-high full toss that was declared a no ball.

“There’s no doubt that the umpires got their calls right in the glare of the spotlight, but one has to ask, is a ball hit for six really a no-ball?” The height of a pitch is closely monitored, especially in late overs, as it was often used as a run-saving delivery. But it cannot be argued on this occasion that that was the outcome.’ Karthik collected three bye runs.

“As for the stump’s three byes, one has to ask: Is that really what tour conditions are trying to achieve? In a game where the balance is already well in the batsman’s favor, what else should a bowler do?” If a bowler is good enough to bowl the perfect Yorker, like Nawaz did, why should he be punished even more? (It’s a lot like NZ being penalized for accidentally knocking over the opponent’s bat, costing them the 50-over World Cup final at The Oval in 2019),” he wrote.

The MCC’s Laws of Cricket states that “The ball goes dead when .. it is ultimately settled in the hands of the wicket-keeper or the bowler.


“ a boundary is scored.

“ a batter is dismissed. The ball is deemed to be dead from the moment of the incident which caused the dismissal.”

Topics mentioned in this article

Leave a Comment