Bangladesh Cricket Board Announce ODI Squad vs India; Shakib returns

Shakib Al-Hasan |  Archive photoImage source: IANS Shakib Al Hasan | Archive photo

The Bangladesh Cricket Board announced the Tamim Iqbal-led squad for the ODI series against India, which also saw all-rounder Shakib Al Hasan mark his return. Ebadot Hossain and Yasir Ali also return to the fold.

Shakib returns

Shakib had skipped Bangladesh’s final ODI series as the side toured Zimbabwe, losing 2–1 in his absence in August. Now with an all India led by Rohit Sharma touring the country for the first time since 2015, Shakib is back to play under the captaincy of Tamim Iqbal.

Bowling and all-rounders

Bangladesh also omitted spin all-rounder Mosaddek Hossain, spinner Taijul Islam and pacer Shoriful Islam, as well as batsman Mohammad Naim, who was included in the squad for the second and third ODI against Zimbabwe alongside Ebadot as Nurul Hasan and Litton Das, suffered injuries.

The grid

The first two ODI matches between Bangladesh and India will take place on December 4-7 at Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium (SBNCS) in Mirpur, Dhaka. The third ODI, previously scheduled in Dhaka, will now take place at Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium (ZACS) in Chattogram on December 10.

Also Read: FIFA World Cup 2022 | Uruguay vs South Korea ends in stalemate; score remains at 0-0


Currently, India ranks third in the ICC Men’s ODI Team Rankings, while Bangladesh ranks seventh. All ODI matches, which are not part of the ODI World Cup Super League, will be day-night affairs from 12pm local time. India will depart for Bangladesh on December 1 and leave the country on December 27 after the tour ends.

The tour will also have two tests under the ICC World Test Championship cycle, at Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium (ZACS) in Chattogram from December 14 to 18, and then at Sher-E-Bangla National Cricket Stadium (SBNCS), Mirpur , Dhaka from Dec 22-26.

ODI Squad Bangladesh vs IND

Tamim Iqbal (Captain), Litton Das, Anamul Haque Bijoy, Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim, Afif Hossain, Yasir Ali Chowdhury, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Mustafizur Rahman, Taskin Ahmed, Hasan Mahmud, Ebadot Hossain Chowdhury, Nasum Ahmed, Mahmud Ullah, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Nurul Hasan

Latest cricket news

Leave a Comment